Flash Fury


Another wildly successful contest. Flash Fury was our most hotly contested flash-off yet, with both our highest turnout and the most difficult judging decisions we’ve ever had to make! So many great entries. Frankly, we’re exhausted. Also, you people are weird.

So let’s cut to the chase and get to those tremendous Flash Fury winners. Check out our results page for the close-but-no-cigar shout-outs to those who just barely missed the cut. And check back soon for details of our 2nd annual Flash Monster contest for the Halloween issue, and details on our upcoming poetry sideshow contest. We even have a Prize Winners print anthology on the way!

You will ride eternal, shiny and chrome.

– The Editor

Flash Fury Winner!

Goodbye, Sunshine

by Sylvia Heike

2nd Place

Cloud Rage

by Lisa Fagaly

3rd Place

Midgut Rock

by Layla Al-Bedawi

Honorable Mentions:

4th – Monkey Steals the Peaches

by Fred Senese

5th – Sunlight

by Melissa Monks

6th – Contagion

by Lindsay Dick

7th – Flight 442

by Heidi Sterling

8th – Here Is a Place to Be

by Joseph Grantham

9th – Angry Man Eats Squid

by Kyle Yadlowski

10th – Double Yellow

by Holly Collingwood


This is the end. 


  *** Flash Fury deadline has passed. Winners announced by July 15th. ***


“Beware the fury of a patient man.”
– John Dryden


Flash Fool offered us plenty of twists and turns (including a first-ever double prize-winner who scooped up both 2nd and 3rd place!). After two very specific niche contests—the time shifting requirement of Flash Future and the twist-ending focus of Flash Fool—we’re blowing this contest wide open.

The main requirement for Flash Fury is that there must be a moment of unleashed aggression. This can be in the form of an epic battle, a psychotic breakdown, unbridled anarchy, a Tarantino-esque revenge fantasy, a riot, an emotional outburst, a murderous rampage, a crime of passion, a violent alien abduction, a zombie apocalypse, the culmination of a conniving sociopath’s detailed plans, a survivalist protecting his own in a dystopic wasteland, a vicious animal attack, righteous anger, or even a virus furiously devouring organic matter. Get creative with it. We don’t want to see a hundred stories about war.

The top three entries will win cold, hard cash.

$200 for Flash Fury winner

$75 for runner-up

$50 for second runner-up

(We also give mad props to 4th-10th place, publishing them as
Honorable Mentions in our Flash Fury mega-issue!)

Follow these guidelines, and you could have some extra coin in your pocket, and some bragging rights as the first ever Flash Fury winner:

– All submissions must absolutely be under 1,000 words, and we tend to look more kindly on 750 or fewer because… SQUIRREL!

All contest submissions will be read blind, so we won’t be playing favorites. Sorry, Mom.

– Please paste your submission into the corresponding field. Do not list your name anywhere in your submission or we’ll assume you don’t know how to read.

– Costs $6 $9 to enter during the Procrastinator’s Special, because, you know, gotta fund the prize money somehow. (Sorry, no refunds.)

– We reserve the right to extend deadlines if necessary (and that’s what we’re doing with the Procrastinator’s Special, with corresponding increase in submission fee so it’s still fair and all). 

– Submissions must be previously unpublished work, and you will retain copyright (duh).

No limit on how many entries you can submit, but you must submit them one at a time. Don’t just mash them all in there.

– Contest submissions accepted until roughly 11:59 PST  June 30th, 2015 11:59 PST on July 5th for the Procrastinator’s Special. Winners announced by July 14th and we’ll unleash the Flash Fury prize-winners mega-issue on July 15th. 

– And, most importantly, this is a FLASH FURY contest, therefore you must include some sort of outburst or act of aggression. 

However, that unleashing of fury can be in any form imaginable, so that means you can go all…


or all.. 


or all…


or all…


or even all…


Unleash the fury and hit us with your best shot. 

Submit to Flash Fury


%d bloggers like this: