Flash Fury Results!

14 Jul

Time to bust out the crazy eyes…


Flash Fury has been another smash success. Now that we’ve got a few of these contests under our belt, it’s clear that the competition is getting even fiercer. This was by far the most difficult judging we’ve had to do. So much fury. You people should maybe think about talking to a therapist…

Given so many great entries, we’ll give a shout-out below to a few of the authors whose entries we loved, but who simply didn’t quite make the final cut. We had scores of strong entries, and we even had a good 35 pieces or so that knocked our socks off, but we had to whittle that down considerably. It was grueling to cut stories we loved. You all are bastards.

The Flash Fury issue will run late tomorrow (Wednesday, July 15th) and will feature our three cash prize winners along with the honorable mentions that round out our incredible Top 10. All prize winners and honorable mentions will also be featured in our Prize Winners print anthology, which we hope to have available by September 1st. 

And yet again, a huge thanks to our incredibly talented co-judge Mary Bond for her literary wisdom and hard work. She’ll be crafting the guidelines for our upcoming poetry contest sideshow (details to come soon).

So get cracking on those sinister stories for our 2nd annual Flash Monster contest, which will be kicking off within the next few weeks and will eventually flesh out our Halloween issue. 

As mentioned, a close but no cigar shout-out to Leif Johnson, Alexis Boddy, Kyle Gordon, Luke Schamer, James Turner, Bart Van Goethem, Aeryn Rudel, Crystal Galyean, David Novak (2), Rebecca Ladd, FJ Bergmann, Jean-Luc Bouchard, and that’s only naming a few. Really great stuff, guys.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for…



Honorable Mentions:

10th place – “Double Yellow” by Holly Collingwood

9th place –  “Angry Man Eats Squid” by Kyle Yadlowsky

8th place – “Here Is a Place to Be” by Joseph Grantham

7th place –  “Flight 442” by Heidi Sterling

6th place – “Contagion” by Lindsay Dick

5th place – “Sunlight” by Melissa Monks

4th place – “Monkey Steals the Peaches” by Fred Senese


And now the cash money winners:
















3rd Place ($50) – “Midgut Rock” by Layla Al-Bedawi

2nd Place ($75) – “Cloud Rage” by Lisa Fagaly

1st Place ($200) – “Goodbye, Sunshine” by Sylvia Heike


Congrats to our deranged winners, and to everyone who entered. We literally couldn’t do these contests without you. Check back soon for the Prize Winners issue!

%d bloggers like this: