Flash Icon Results!

14 Aug

When it comes to dark and offbeat flash fiction, nothing is sacred. We asked you to mess with iconic people, places, or things and you came through with something truly weird creations. This contest was wide open as far as tone is concerned and we were thrilled to see you all take icons to some bizarre and fantastical places.

Stay tuned in the near future for details on our next quarterly flash fiction contest, which will be a horror-themed #FlashFear contest, with our prizes winners mega-issue appearing on Halloween. 

And now to the stuff you really care about…

Some high-quality work this contest, which made it all that much more difficult to judge. Making cuts was no easy task, and many entries made it through the first couple rounds. That means we have a ton of non-cigars to hand out.

Close-but-no-cigar mentions go to the following writers:

Seth Augenstein
Sarah Beaudette (2)
Christina Dalcher
Alyssa Durst
Wiebo Grobler
G.J. Hart
D.I. Hughes
Kate Imbach
Hope Linden
Emily Livingstone

Jan Kaneen
Jennifer Kapral
Corinne Mahoney
Lisa Mecham
Chris Milam
Sherry Morris
Eric Newman
B.T. Schweitzer 
Jack Somers
Nick Soto
Allison Spector
Matt St. Hilaire
Christopher Stanley
Mike Sweeney
Guinotte Wise

We are incredibly grateful to have the chance to read each and every entry that came in. Your hard work and creative minds are what make these contests a success.

The Top 10 that you’ll find below will be published in our forthcoming Flash Icon mega-issue, which will run within the next few days. They will also be included in this fall’s Prize Winners Anthology print issue, which will feature the Top 10 finishers from our other quarterly contests and the Shadow Award poetry contest. You can check out last year’s Prize Winners Anthology here

I’m going to shut up now and make with the results…

10th Place – “Trekkie” by Henry Whittier-Ferguson
9th Place – “Post-Inauguration Day” by Shane Gannaway
8th Place – “Visitation” by Allison Spector
7th Place – “The Stories Hadley Hemingway Lost” by Robyn Ryle
6th Place – “Crumbs” by Gabriel Thibodeau
5th Place – “Boleskine” by Christopher Stanley
4th Place – “The Further Adventures of Dorothy Gale” by Fred Senese



And now on to the three stories that really knocked us out…


3rd Place ($50)

“My Own Private Idol”
by Fiona Smith


2nd Place ($100)
“The Father of Terror”
by Aeryn Rudel


1st Place ($200)

“The Solstice Shade”
by F.E. Clark


Congrats to the winners and a huge thanks to everyone who participated in the Flash Icon contest. We literally couldn’t do this without you. Check back within a few days  for the Flash Icon mega-issue!


%d bloggers like this: